World Class Tiger: Rhea Daniels [Interview]

Here at 28&J, we’re starting a new series of interviews with Tennessee State University alumni whose career paths have taken them around the world. Yes, TSU is truly “world class!”  Check out the first installment below as we get to know some World Class Tigers!

—–

Name: Rhea Daniels
Class: 1996
Occupation: Senior Health & Wellness, Executive for Pacific Far East, United States Navy
Hometown: Clarksville, TN
Current city of Residence: Tokyo, Japan

1) Why did you choose TSU?
TSU’s international reputation, challenging academic programs, clean and safe campus and it just so happened to be the University my hometown (Clarksville, TN) hero Wilma Rudolph attended.

2) How did TSU prepare you for your current profession?
TSU’s diverse university community provided a perfect forum for me to really develop and hone in on my people skills.  In Corporate America, besides business acumen, there may be no other single skill more important than interpersonal skill. As a result of my experience at TSU, I consider myself a consensus team builder able to lead or participate in top performing cross functional teams. My work experience has consistently been one of increasing responsibility and scope of work, and I believe this is a direct result of my personal/professional development at Tennessee State University.

3) What’s the best advice you received from a parent, grandparent, family member, mentor or friend?
“Don’t wait until everything is just right. It will never be perfect. There will always be challenges, obstacles and less than perfect conditions. So get started now. With each step you take, you will grow stronger and stronger, more and more skilled, more and more self-confident and thus more and more successful.”

4) Why do you love TSU?
TSU was emotionally nurturing and comforting.  The sense of community and family are what sets TSU apart from other universities I have attend.  I actually recall not wanting to ever leave.  It has been many years since I left my beloved alma mater, yet I still feel the warmth of her love.  To an extent, absence does indeed make the heart grow fonder and I am able to state this on a personal account. Cherished memories are strengthened by an inter-network weaving of nostalgia.

5) What advice would you give to alumni about international travel/living?
LIVE THE DREAM. Traveling internationally has given me the opportunity to meet people from all walks of life. Part of the experience has been swapping unique travel stories and tips with fellow independent globetrotters whom I encounter along the way. Traveling abroad has enlightened me, and brought perspective into my microcosmic life. It has taught me the meaning of humility while I embark on my fascinating adventures. I have endured many fiascoes and triumphs in life’s largest university. I hope to continue
living an amazing life and document it in the form of an autobiography. Hopefully my
story might pass on a sense of empowerment to future generations.
Leave a Reply

