TSU Alum Highlight: Dr. Rashida Daily

Name: Rashida Daily, Pharm.D.
Class: 2001
Occupation: Clinical Pharmacist
Hometown: Mississippi
Current city of Residence: California

1) Why did you choose TSU?
Several factors played into why I chose Tennessee State University. There was definitely a strong family influence that helped to shape my decision. I also knew that I wanted to pursue a career in the healthcare sector so the curriculum and the majors that TSU offered was also a big plus. Of course, the beauty and diversity of the city and campus also attracted me to the university.

2) How did TSU prepare you for your current profession?
Where do I start? First, after graduating from TSU I went on to pursue a doctorate degree in pharmacy, so receiving my bachelors in chemistry at TSU definitely prepared me well for the work that was required to attain that degree. In 1999 I joined the best organization of women, Zeta Phi Beta Sorority Inc. and being a part of such a wonderful sisterhood taught me the importance of service and commitment to and in the community. That commitment inspired me to start my own mobile pharmacy consulting company–named after my grandmother— where I specialize in medication therapy management for senior adults. I work in the community to help seniors better understand and manage complex medication regimens and their disease states. I work in collaboration with their caregivers and primary care physicians to identify and resolve any problems they may be experiencing with their medication, and TSU definitely prepared me by setting the foundation needed to pursue entrepreneurship.

3) What’s the best advice you received from a parent, grandparent, family member, mentor or friend?
If it were easy, everyone would do it. The best and most rewarding things in life are worth working hard for. These are some of the valuable things that I look forward to passing on to my beautiful daughter who motivates me and inspires me everyday in everything that I do.

4) Why do you love TSU?
I love TSU because TSU has laid the foundation for who I am today and I love and cherish the long-lasting relationships and friendships that I developed during my four years there.

Please Connect with Dr. Daily via her new business adventure Nettie’s Pills Box and on Facebook

Leave a Reply

