TSU Alum Highlight: Myshel Wilkins

Name: Myshel Wilkins (Michelle Robinson during my TSU days)
Class: 2000
Occupation: Recording artist
Hometown: Frankfort Ky
Current city of Residence: Nashville


*Myshel just released her album entitled “RELENTLESS” on iTunes.

*www.myshelmusic.com
1) Why did you choose TSU?

I wanted to attend a historically black university. TSU was close enough to my home in Kentucky yet just far enough to enjoy complete independence. I came to visit the campus my senior year in high school and fell in love with the University and campus life. I was beyond excited and couldn’t wait to move into Wilson Hall that fall!

2) How did TSU prepare you for your current profession?
Today, I use much of what I learned during my reign as “Miss TSU”.  There were many unfamiliar demands place on me all at once in front of a watching university. Both the students and administration had very high expectations of me.  I had to learn very quickly how to juggle my social live, two crowns, trying to graduate and  handle myself in the public eye and hope no one could detect my “what in the world am I doing” moments… LOL.  I was somewhat of a campus celebrity so it was important to understand what I had signed up for.  Cut out any and all complaining,  embrace the fullness of my role and do my very best. It was my great honor to be chosen to represent an entire university! I am forever grateful for the training it gave me 🙂 

Today, I use this mindset for my life today. As a professional singer,  I get to perform on stages in front of thousands of people.  Many young ladies look up to me and because I know they are watching, I want to be a good example, represent the Love of God and inspire others to relentlessly go after the dream within.  Today, my focus is to be  thankful,  kind,  genuinely care about the well being of others and SERVE them with my gift.  This gives purpose to everything I do. 

3) What’s the best advice you received from a parent, grandparent, family member, mentor or friend?
My mother always encouraged me to go after the dream within. She’d tell me that.. once you go after your reason for breathing, you and God become close partners to fulfill a powerful purpose.  She always believed that God has something great for me to do and was one of my biggest cheerleaders. I have a relentless attitude when it comes to working hard and trusting hard to see, not only my dreams come true, but I want others to see their dreams come to complete fruition.  Live on purpose!
4) Why do you love TSU?
Are you kidding me?… I got a degree, a couple of crowns AND a husband from there… TSU has been Great to me!!! lol… My blood runs blue forever!!!! TSU!

 

Leave a Reply

