The Man, The Mission, The Wisdom of TSU World Class Alum: WorldWide Nate

Tennessee State University Alum Nathan Fluellen South Africa casting his vote!!

WorldWide Nate aka Nathan Fluellen owns travel show that highlights the travels interests of urban professionals traveling abroad while showing viewers how to travel on a budget and answering the questions, “What do I need to do to get there?” Below he talks of his time at Tennessee State University.

1) Why did you choose TSU?

I chose TSU because my youth I would attend Circle City classic and I always connected with TSU.  I remember we played Jackson State and they would promote their sonic boom and I thought that was wack.  I was rooting for Tennessee State; little did I know at the time that my uncle graduated from TSU in the 1960s.  During my teenage years I visited my cousin while she was attending the engineering summer program ECI.  After that visit it was cemented in my head that I was going to TSU plus I had an interested in engineering.  I’m proud to say that I’m the third family member to graduate from TSU.

2) How did TSU prepare you for your current profession?

Where do I begin…TSU is actually responsible for World Wide Nate ever existing.  I tell people this story all the time that I owe my entire adult experience to TSU.  Prior to graduating I had a long talk with myself about what I want to do with the rest of my life and how I want to make my mark because so many of my classmates were graduating and doing great things.  At TSU we’re competitive but in a supportive family oriented nurturing way and my entire TSU experience was preparation.  The student body was amazing meeting different types of people from all over the country and learning how diverse of a people we are.  My professors challenged me to excel and be great and the administration taught me about the real world.  I’m sure TSU has made strides since I attended but the administration did have performance issues but looking back I appreciate them because they gave me the mettle I needed to navigate the globe.

3) What’s the best advice you received from a parent, grandparent, family member, mentor or friend?

My mother always says to be wise and as serpent and stay humble as dove.  My grandmother says to keep God first in everything I do.

4) Why do you love TSU?

I love TSU because I had so much fun and learned so many valuable lessons that guide me to this day.  When I reflect on TSU I see my family and I feel loved.  TSU is an extension of my family.  Attending the Centennial Homecoming was an unbelievable experience.  Everyone was saying, World Wide Nate left and right and just by everyone recognizing what I created was emotionally touching.  It made me even more motivated to keep working hard to achieve my goals.  TSU has never stopped pushing me towards being great and that is why I love TSU.

5) What advice would you give to alumni about international travel/living?

My advice is to get a passport and leave the States and experience a different culture.  Once you see how an entire society can live totally different then how we do in the States then you gain wisdom.  My professor at TSU Dr. Galen Hull gave me his memoir documenting his travel to over 80 countries.  On the inside cover he had a quote from The Rza that read a wise man is a traveling man.  Dr. Hull challenged me to visit more countries then him so I’m on my quest for 100.  Whether your visit one or one hundred countries everyone should pick a destinations and simple GO!

Check out a video of World WIde Nate Running with The Bulls!

 

 

Please Check out More of his Adventures Below:

Leave a Reply

