Historically black college football programs struggling to keep up

Tennessee State's Kadeem Edwards.

“The first time I saw half the people in the stands leave after the halftime show by the band, it upset me,” said Edwards, a 6-foot-4, 309-pound offensive guard who played at Tennessee State University in Nashville. “It was a little disrespectful.”

He sighed and shook his head slowly side to side.

“Don’t get me wrong. I love Tennessee State,” he added. “The HBCU halftime is part of the culture, and I love the bands. It fills me with pride. But, man, the football is more important to me. I don’t want the people to leave the game before the third quarter. Stay and watch us.”

Leave a Reply

