Tennessee State University Awarded Scientific Leadership Award

The Department of Homeland Security’s (DHS) Science and Technology Directorate (S&T) has announced the award of six new Scientific Leadership Awards (SLAs) to the following institutions: Alabama Agricultural and Mechanical University, Jackson State University, Tennessee State University, Texas Southern University, the University of the District of Columbia, and the University of Texas at San Antonio. These institutions will partner with S&T Centers of Excellence to develop course content and engage students and faculty in research relevant to the nation’s complex homeland security challenges.

“Our universities are incubators for innovation and creative problem solving,” said S&T Under Secretary Dr. Reginald Brothers. “We look forward to working with these institutes of higher learning to help foster a homeland security culture within the academic community through research and educational programs.”

This year’s award represents the first of a two-year funding effort where each university would ultimately receive up to $1 million. These grants are one of the numerous ways that S&T is helping to build a diverse, highly capable, technical workforce for the homeland security mission.

Read More


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s